Saxophone Forum

by GSaxRGodC
(7 posts)
14 years ago

Airy, Spitty sound, difficult articulation

So I've been playing for nine years now, and I have just started having this problem here. I play alto, use a 3.5 Vandoren reed, Meyer 7 mouth piece, and a Prestini intermediate alto sax. I'm getting these airy, spitty sounds when I'm playing, and having difficulty getting notes to sound out correctly when playing anything lower than a G. I've tried swapping out reeds, changed embouchures, moved my ligature around a bit, but it's still not working. I have to play louder to hit those lower notes, and they are still not sounding quite right. Any ideas here? I've never had these problems except when I first started out learning, and it's really kind of embarrassing sounding the way I am right now.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by newreedsyndrome
    (343 posts)

14 years ago

Re: Airy, Spitty sound, difficult articulation

Have you checked the horn for leaks? Torn up pads will do this too

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

14 years ago

the G# key might have gotten out-of-whack. take the sax to a good repairman.

Reply To Post

1. by hemkestudent
        (5 posts)

14 years ago