Saxophone Forum

by RosaA
(1 post)
11 years ago

Gluing keypads

I am using shellac for the first time and getting in a pickle... I am melting the flakes over a flame but by the time I get to the pad the shellac has gone cold and dry... what am I doing wrong???

Many thanks
Rosa 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by birdlover
    (43 posts)

11 years ago

2. by robbsn
    (2 posts)

11 years ago

Re: Gluing keypads

mel the flakes in denatured alchohol until it is the consistancy of honey. not with flame

Reply To Post

3. by [email protected]
    (5 posts)

11 years ago

I've been overhauling saxes for over 40 years and never used flake shellac, so I can't help you there.  I use stick shellac for small fast jobs, but when doing major pad work I use a glue gun.  There are several things I like about it:  First, it has a good melting point.  Second, it has a long work time.  Third, it doesn't expand when it heats and contract as it cools.  Fourth, when shellac dries it's very very hard.  When glue gun glue dries it has a "rubbery" consistency.  I've found this helps to reduce the pad noise.

A general note on using any kind of glue:  USE A LOT!!!  There are several reasons for that, but most importantly you want to be able to float the pad.  If you use a minimal amount of glue the only way to adjust the pad is by bending the whole cup.  If the pad is floating on a layer of glue you can heat it and nudge the pad into position.  When I'm asked to adjust a repair from another shop, it's almost impossible if there's not enough glue behind the pad.  I've made minor adjustments on overhauls I did 5+ years ago, and if the pad is still in good condition it's possible to achieve a 100% seal simply by floating the pad back into position.