Saxophone Forum

by Bari Mary
(1 post)
4 years ago

Mark VI Alto mouthpiece options

Hi everyone! I'm a lapsed sax player hoping to get back into the action and I'm looking for suggestions for a new mouthpiece and ligature. 

I play a heavily-refurbished early-60's Selmer Mark VI alto. (I know they're controversial, but a mentor found an amazing deal for me when I was a poor college student in need of a decent horn of my own, and it's what I've got.) My current mouthpiece is a Selmer C* CS80 with a rovner ligature.

When I was in college a decade ago, my sax professor was very insistant that all his students play on C*s, which was fine for classical study, but to be honest I've never really liked it. More importantly, it doesn't seem to pair well with my horn, which had ALL its lacquer by a previous owner stripped (I assume to further amplify "that Mark VI sound.") 

I haven't played much in the last ten years—mostly at church and in community bands—but now I'm trying to get back into jazz and rock with small local combos. I'm not trying to show off on high overtones or anything like that. I just want to jam with musician friends and have a decent, fat sound and good intonation, without working too hard. 

But I'm open to all kinds of suggestions: What's your favorite rubber mouthpiece? What are metal mouthpieces about? What's a good ligature to go with your mouthpiece? Do you prefer certain reeds for different mouthpieces? 

Thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mijderf
    (282 posts)

4 years ago

Re: Mark VI Alto mouthpiece options